Wednesday, November 23, 2005

Winners of the 2005 Taiwan International Poster Design Award

The first "2005 Taiwan International Poster Design Award" was responsed by Department of Commerce, MOEA and endorsed by Icograda, which received more than 1,246 submitted works came from 35 different countries and areas by the deadline.
We invited 6 international and 3 Taiwan local judges to proceed judging works on 17th Oct, who including Robert L. Peters (Canada, FGDC, Past President of Icograda) , Ken Cato (Australia, Cato Purnell Partners, AGI Member) , Theodora Mantzaris (Britain, Design Director, ATHENS 2004 Olympic Games) , Kari Piippo (Finland, AGI Member) , Shigeo Fukuda (Japan, President of JAGDA, AGI Member), Reza Abedini (Iran, Reza Abedini Studio, AGI Member), Lin Pan-sung (Taiwan, Professor of Fine Art, National Taiwan Normal University, 2001~2003 Icograda Treasurer), Taddy Ho (Taiwan, CEO&ECD/BBDO Taiwan Advertising Limited) and David Wang (Taiwan, Design Consultant of Wang & Design Associates).

There are 17 awards and 84 final selected from 1,246 works with high quality and creativity, which including Grand Prize, Icograda Excellence Award, Gold/ Silver/ Bronze medal for open category / Special theme (Urban impressions) and Judges Special Award.

The name of winner and finalist are as following:

Grand Prize Underkarl --- Niklaus Troxler, Switzerland

Icograda Excellent Award Earthquake Prevention Exhibition --- Melchior Imboden, Switzerland

Open Category

Gold Medal: Earth Day 365 --- Mitsuo Watanabe, Japan
Silver Medal: Chinese Festivities Typography --- Chen Zhengda , China
Bronze Medal: Chinese Character --- Lin Chun Liang Leo , Taiwan
Special theme: Urban Impressions

Gold Medal: Taiwan Image- Pingshi --- Yu Ming Lung, Taiwan
Silver Medal: Nanjing Impress of City --- Zhao Qing , China
Bronze Medal: Suzhou Image --- Bai Zhiwei , China

Judges Special Award

Satyricon 2004 --- Wieslaw Grzegorczyk, Poland
Typography --- Oded Ezer, Israel
Play Type --- Philippe Apeloig, France
Frank Lloyd Wright --- Gianni Bortolotti, Italy
Group Video Installation --- Amirali Ghasemi, Iran
Mouth --- Liza Ramalho & Artur Rebelo, Portugal
Heritage–Evergreen, Growing, Blossoming Kan Tai Keung, Hong Kong
Irene Schweizer --- Niklaus Troxler, Switzerland
Uwe Loesch_Polis --- Uwe Loesch, Germany

Sunday, November 20, 2005

Iranian Poster Exhibition in Ogaki, Japan

From Posterpage:
Iranian Poster Exhibition in Ogaki
October 29 – November 26, 2005; Kanazawa University
Ogaki Poster Museum, Japan
Noboru Matsuura, Professor of Kanazawa University and the director of Ogaki Poster Museum invited Iranian poster designers to Ogaki Poster Museum for the Iranian Poster Exhibition in Japan. The exhibition is scheduled to open on October 29, 2005 through November 26, 2005.

Five international invitational poster exhibitions were held in this museum since now, that the well-known poster designers will take part in it from all around the world. Prof. Matsuura organized three periodical exhibitions: Polish Posters, 1999; Chinese Contemporary Posters, 2001 and 65 years Cuban Posters in 2003. He is also organizing Iranian Poster Exhibition now. This exhibition was organized by cooperation of the 5th Color.

He says: "Iranian posters have been drawing international attention in these years. This is mainly because people are taking a great interest in the Persian and Islamic culture. In other words the posters symbolize the fantastic culture of a specific country. I always think "Posters are art and message" and have introduced the masterpieces of posters from such countries as Poland, the United States, ex Soviet Union, Germany, Finland, Czech & Slovakia, Switzerland, France, China and Cuba. For this time of particular occasion I am thinking to introduce the posters of your country, Iran."

The list of Iranian designers are (click on the names to see the posters):
Majid Abbasi, Reza Abedini, Farzad Adibi, Morteza Akoochekian, Tahamtan Aminian, Majid Azadmanesh, Edik Boghosian, Maryam Enayati, Vahid Erfanian, Siamak Felizadeh, Farhad Fozouni, Amirali Ghasemi, Ebrahim Haghighi,Pedram Harby, Abdullah Kaviani, Ali Khorshidpour, Behrad Javanbakht, Saed Meshki, Morteza Momeyez, Davood Morgan, Alireza Mostafazadeh Ebrahimi, Iman M. Raad, Mehdi Saeedi, Bijan Sayfouri, Firouz Shafei, Ghobad Shiva, Farid Yahaghi.

The catalogue of exhibition was published by organizer. Please see the web site of the Ogaki Poster Museum for more information, and The 5th Color for pictures from the opening.
See the link in Perisan weblog in